Enable Low Data Mode

If a participant's poor internet connection is disrupting the conversation, the Host or Producer can enable Low Data Mode to turn off all participants' live video. The call proceeds through audio only. Video continues to record locally on each participant's device to create their High Quality Track. Low Data Mode improves the quality of the live call by reducing the amount of data transmitted between participants.

Follow the steps below to enable Low Data Mode in the Studio's sidebar.

NOTE: Backups
Participants' internet Backup recordings, including the combined All Participants Backup recording, are audio-only within the backup file (MP4 video) while Low Data Mode is enabled.

Step by step:

  1. Using a computer, join a Riverside Studio as Host or Producer.
  2. In the sidebar on the right, click the Studio tab.
    NOTE:
    If you don't see the sidebar, click participants-users.svg (the participants icon) to expand it.
  3. Next to Poor internet affecting the call?, click chevron-down.svg the down arrow.
  4. In the expanded panel, click the toggle next to Low data mode for all to enable it toggle-on.svg.
    cropped-low-data-mode_marked.png
    Participants' live video feeds turn off. Local recording of High Quality Tracks continues as normal. 
NOTES:
When Low Data Mode is enabled, each participant receives a notification and still sees their own video.
Low-data-mode-guest-view.png
Low Data Mode can be enabled while a participant is sharing their screen. All participants continue to see the shared screen.

Read more

Did this answer you question?

/