Remove a section from recording using the transcript

Plan: All Plans
Device: Computer Browser

 

Riverside's text-based editing lets you remove a section from your recording using the transcription of the conversation that Riverside generates automatically.

 

Step by step

  1. On a computer, log in to your Riverside account.
  2. In the ☰ menu on the left, click the relevant Studio.
  3. Click the relevant recording.
  4. In the top right corner, click Edit and choose + Create new edit.
    Or scroll to Edits and click a Draft or magic-spark-icon.svg Magic Clip.
  1. Above the timeline, click transcript_icon_bk.svg Transcript.
  2. Click a word at the desired section start-point.
  3. Above the timeline, click split-timeline-20x20.svg Split.
  4. Click a word at the desired section end-point, then click split-timeline-20x20.svg Split.
  5. Above the timeline, click delete-remove_trash.svg Remove or drag the trimming handles to remove the section.
    transcript-remove-from-timeline-with-split.png

Phrases and sections you remove are shown in grey. They do not appear in search results but are still included in the downloadable transcript file.

NOTE:
If multiple participants spoke at the same time, you may still see their words in the transcript after you have removed that section from the recording. Where there is cross-talk like this, anything you cut out of the recording removes it for all participants.

Learn more

Did this answer your question?